Syllabus

University of Virginia, Dept. of Psychology

VIEW/DOWNLOAD

About this course: I taught three 20-student discussion sections in an independent supplement to a 250-student lecture course in child development.

About this document: Although the lecture professor set the “Tentative Schedule and Readings,” as well as the paper topics and deadlines, I wrote all other assignments and policies. Each was targeted to explain my expectations and my own pledged commitment clearly. The assignment sections are an important example of this: note that I later asked students to evaluate the goals I list for “Weekly assignments”, and a majority felt they had been met (see student evaluations and comments). One third of students also took advantage of my offer to review drafts and outlines of the papers. Finally, note the last section, “Respect, Benevolence, and Justice:” these are the official ethical principles of the American Psychological Association, and I introduce them as a frame in which to explain my expectations for a safe discussion environment, while introducing students to the field.

Comments are closed.